It’s My Vote, not the GOP’s

If there is one thing this current election cycle says about America, it is that we have completely lost our way.

It is no secret that I am a long time conservative. I made the decision on my own. I grew up in a blue collar family. My parents worked multiple jobs to keep a roof over our heads and food in our stomachs. My parents focused on family being the most important thing in your life outside of your education. I busted my butt in school to get good grades and get into college. College as it turns out isn’t free and contrary to what social justice warriors will have you think, the white privilege myth doesn’t get you in and it certainly doesn’t pay your loans off or cover the cost of your books and supplies.

I’m a single mom and according to the government, I need them. But that isn’t parenting to me. I became a single mother at 25 due to unfortunate circumstances and all around poor choices. But they were my choices and I own them. No one owes me anything for that,but I do owe my son a life he deserves. Instead of taking the easy way out, I took the zero excuses route and finished my college degree at night while working a full time day job. I sacrificed a lot of time with my infant son for those years, but the point of it was that I was  doing it for him and setting the example that if you work hard enough at anything you will find success. He is my responsibility alone. Not the government’s.

As a fiscal conservative who believes strongly in absolute freedom of speech, in my right to defend myelf and the ones I love from any threat, that all Americans have the right to pursue happiness and success, and that the safety of our country is a top priority, I’m completely dumbfounded that THIS is the best we can do. Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. A woman who’s negligence got Americans killed and who had a flagrant disregard for national security versus the world’s biggest narcissist, misogonyst, bigot.

I do NOT throw around words like bigot and racist. I do not take those terms lightly because they are thrown around with reckless abandon these days. At this point, it is difficult to deny that Donald Trump is all of these things. He is a walking disaster and the thought of him holding nuclear codes chills me to the core.

There is little I can do to stop this train for moving forward. This election is full steam ahead and it’s only a matter of time until we go to the polls and the train barrels off the tracks. There is no right answer here.

For years, we’ve been voting for the lesser of two evils it seems. When John McCain ran against Barrack Obama, he was a little too left of center for my liking, however Senator McCain is a man that I greatly respect and admire for his service to his country (service that Trump has openly mocked) and I agreed with him on enough issues that I felt comfortable voting for him. I believe he is a good and decent man who would have made an overall good president who would have been willing to reach across the aisle to get things done.

Four years later, I was faced with Mitt Romney. Again, not a perfect candidate, but he hit me where it mattered most to me and that was with my wallet. I think he would have been strong on econcomic policy and the economy means a lot to me when I vote. Do you like money? I like money.

Fast forward another four years and we are in the worst possible position I could have imagined. Okay, it is worse than I imagined. And the sick part of it all is that there are people telling me that if I don’t vote for Trump that I am being immoral and that I am supporting Hillary.

Here is where those people are wrong. I am not supporting Hillary by not supporting Trump. We started a year ago with some of the best candidates I have seen the GOP put forward in my adult life. Ted Cruz was strong all around in my eyes. Carly Fiorina had great ideas on reforming the tax code and foreign relations. John Kasich was honestly one of the most presidential candiates I’ve ever seen and as a long time fan of his record in Washington, I would have been proud to vote for him.

Governor Kasich wasn’t strong enough for those with an appetite for TMZ. He was sensible and calm and let his resume do the talking.

But Donald Trump was TMZ on crack. His campaign has been nothing but one dumpster fire to put out after another and the best that anyone can come up with to defend his actions is that he isn’t that articulate.

No. Trump isn’t articulate. It isn’t because he’s not great at public speaking or because he is passionate. It’s because he is completely in over his head and unqualified to hold the office of president. He is revealing exactly who he is. He’s a man who mocks veterans, blames women for being the victims of sexual harassment, claims he would order our military to commit war crimes, and has complete contempt for anyone who dares disagree with him. He is a man who’s only talent is standing on a podium and belittling others.

Yet I have people like Laura Ingraham and Sean Hannity spewing remarks about how if I don’t support Trump I’m personally responsible for allowing Clinton to get elected and that as a conservative it is “immoral” for me to not support Trump.

Hannity Tweet3

Well here is a big “fuck you” to that. Ted Cruz got one thing right this year and it was to vote my conscience. I will NOT be guilted or shamed into using my vote, MY VOTE, a right and duty that I have as an American citizen that I take more seriously than most other parts of my life, to elect anyone that I am uncomfortable voting for. People are becoming so obsessed with “beating Clinton” that they either haven’t truly stopped to consider that the candidate they have put forward isn’t the best solution to that or they are so party blind and hate Clinton so badly that they don’t even care who the other candidate is or what they stand for.

Ingram Tweet

I am an American before I am a conseravative. I am also a mother, a daughter, a sister, a girlfriend, an employee, and many other things. To answer your question Ms. Ingraham, I will explain to MY son that when the time came to cast my vote (which will likely go to a write in or third party candidate), that I did what was right for America and what was right for HIM and for me. Neither of these candidates are right for this country and you are so focused on “beating Hillary” that you are too ignorant and stubborn to see that the man you have aligned yourself with is every bit as untrustworthy and even more dangerous than any candidate I have ever seen before. I will tell my son that I didn’t vote for someone just because my registration card matched the party on the ballot. I stood up and said, “That was my vote, not the Republican party’s vote. I was not bullied into supporting a man  that I  did not believe was good enough, smart enough, or had enough restraint to lead this country.”

Our country is sick. It’s more divided than ever. We don’t have much to choose from, but I will make the choice that I can live with and not the one that pundits like Ingraham and Hannity so arrogantly believe I should make because they are too cowardly to open their minds and admit that this is the worst case scenario.

When you go to the polls, no matter your party affiliation, vote your conscience. Put country before petty politics. That’s your right and duty as an American.

Leave a Reply

