Perfect 10

By Rachel

In my post the other day, I touched briefly on my crush on Seth Rogan.

A reader responded with disbelief that I would find Rogan attractive.

You can’t win with guys, just like you can’t win with women. We’re all completely bonkers. If I say that I only like guys like Mark Wahlberg and Channing Tatum, I’m shallow. If I say I like guys like Seth Rogan and Jay Baruschel, I’m blind.

“Why can’t just a normal looking nice guy get your attention?”

Well, fuck. That’s my target audiance. That’s who I am most likely to give my attention to. Justin Timberlake all day- but when it comes time to stroll to the altar, that’s not who I’m ending up with.

I’m a nerd through and through. As much as I enjoy Joe Manganiello’s bod, the thing I REALLY love about him is his nerdy side. Have you ever heard his impersonation of Randy Savage? Had me on the floor.

Aside from Wahlberg, my longest standing celebrity crush is probably Chris Hardwick. Ever since the first episode of Singled Out, I was hooked.

I like what I like. Finding nerdy and unconventionally attractive guys sexy doesn’t mean there is something wrong with me. If anything, the fact that there are women out there such as myself should make guys who don’t look like an Abercrombie model feel good. “Oooooh…not all girls are looking for a guy who is a perfect 10.” Society’s standards of physical beauty don’t dictate my dating life.

My perfect 10 isn’t the same as the next girl’s. We all have different preferences and your perfect guy (or lady) won’t necessarily look like Scarlett Johansson or Chris Evans. But they don’t have to because someone will be perfect to you once you love them.

Additionally, as I’ve stated in the past on this blog, people become more attractive as you fall in love with their personality and who they are.

My perfect 10 is someone who gets me, is easy going, makes me laugh, treats me well, will be a good father, and who I can be myself around. Looks play a part, but they aren’t number one on the list. He needs to be a full package. Physical attraction may come first or it may develop over time. Does it really matter what the order is if I find someone who makes me happy and I do the same for him?

Leave Seth Rogan alone. I like what I like.

Leave a Reply

