All Them Skinny Bitches

By Rachel

I’m not a skinny girl, but I’m going to defend the crap out of them right now.

As a former skinny girl trying desperately to get back to a healthy weight and body shape (20 pounds down, wooooo!), I have become acutely aware of “skinny girl hate.” And it’s fucking uncalled for.

Seriously. Calm yourself.

This is the thing about girls who hate skinny girls- they throw every stereotype at them humanly possible. Skinny girls are bitches. Skinny girls are whores. Skinny girls don’t eat enough. Skinny girls hate fat girls. Skinny girls think they are better than you.

Stop it. Just stop. Breathe. You’re completely irrational.

Did you ever watch Jenny Jones back in the day? There are plenty of bitchy fat girls who think they are better than you. “Ya’ll just jealous! I look good! Ya’ll jealous! Why you gotta hate? Sit down! Sit down!”

God, I loved that show.

Here’s the thing, ladies. Your hate of skinny girls is just you projecting your own insecurities. The notion that “Guys only like skinny girls” is totally false. I’m not skinny, but guys still find me attractive (and no, they aren’t all ugly). If you changed your attitude, guys would probably find you more attractive. Guys like someone with confidence, not someone who is sitting at the bar scowling at tiny girls. You look irritated and mean. Put a smile on for fuck’s sake.

And honest to God, if a guy ONLY cares about your body shape, why the fuck would you want to be with that guy anyway? But if you want a hot guy who is built, why are you judging him for wanting a girl who is also fit?

During the last few months that I’ve been trying to lose weight, I’ve been talking with one of my girlfriends who is very thin. We’ve talked about our weight struggles and finding clothes that fit right and honestly, the things people say to her about being thin.

She’s just as discriminated against for being thin as you feel you are for being curvy or possibly overweight.

Constantly telling someone that they need to eat a cheeseburger or that they don’t need to exercise is completely off base. Being skinny doesn’t mean that the same rules of maintaining a healthy life don’t apply to you. You can be skinny and be diabetic or have high cholesterol. No matter if you are rail thin or overweight or at a healthy weight for your height and body type, no one is exempt from healthy diet and exercise. EVERYONE needs to eat well and exercise daily to live a long and healthy life and to maintain their weight.

So if she is concerned about gaining weight, don’t think “well you can afford to gain a few pounds, skinny girl!” Maybe she can’t. Do you think she wants to have to go out and buy bigger clothes? How do YOU feel when your clothes don’t fit? You feel like shit! I know I do! So whether or not I’m skinny or fat, I sure as hell don’t want to have that moment of realization that my clothes don’t fit. Trust me. I’ve had it. I have a closet full of various clothing sizes to prove that shit.

This also doesn’t mean that she-or other skinny girls- don’t have issues finding clothing that fits right or flatters their body type. Clothes are made to fit certain body types. It is possible to be skinny and look to a poo sandwich in clothes because they make you look disproportionate or hide your curves or make you look like you are drowning.

Now, let’s move on to the subject of a skinny girl’s attitude. Get over it. I’m heavier than most of the girls I hang out with most and not ONE of them has ever said or done anything to make me feel bad about myself. Some of my closest friends throughout my entire life have been tiny girls/cheerleaders. In fact, everyone on my mom’s side of the family is about 5’0″ tall, a buck fifteen tops. My family isn’t mean or judgemental.

I have no problems going clothing shopping with any of my girlfriends because they’ll help me find something I look good in and not make me feel like I’m ugly or frumpy. They’ve been really great cheerleaders as I’ve been losing weight and very complimentary of my progress. But they have also never criticized me or made me feel like I need to lose weight. They are simply supportive of my wanting to do this.

I’d say I have pretty damned good friends.

Just knock off the silly nonsense about skinny girls. Some people are naturally thin and other people (like myself) have to work to maintain their weight. Genetics sometimes rule the day. When you really examine what you are saying and how you feel, you’ll see in the end that this is mostly mounting jealousy or insecurity.

Leave a Reply

