Stop Making That Guy

By Rachel

I ride the bus into town for work. Needless to say, I have encountered some strange and frightening people over the course of the last seven years that I have worked in downtown Pittsburgh. Have you ever been on the South Bus Way? You pick up people who are coming from the methadone clinic. Awww, man. It’s such a train wreck.

About two or three weeks ago, I am standing on Wood Street waiting for the bus to go home and this girl and guy are sitting on the curb talking about some CD they were waiting to come out. “That is my fuckin shit. That is my shit! I been waitin for dis CD, yo!” Oh  my Christ, lady. Please stop talking.

They get on my bus.

Over the course of the next few days, the story unfolds. This woman just met this dude out on the street. She is on the bus sometimes with her newborn baby girl. This dude is woo-ing her with all of his charm. His charm is talking about how he is gonna shoot some guy. “Don’t fuck with me comin round talking about how you’re gonna pull a gun on me. I’ll fuck him up. I will fuck him up. I’ll shoot him first. Okay, girl. I gotta get off here. You gone call me, right? You call me, girl.” And she is all giggles and smiles.

Yeah, bitch. You found yourself a real man there. God help your child.

This guy: Stop making him. We already have this guy.

Stop fucking making this guy. We have this guy. We don’t need more of this fucking loser. It kills me every time I hear a girl fawning over a dude like this about what a “real man” he is. No. He isn’t a real man. He’s a piece of shit.

If you are raising a baby on your own, what the hell makes you think that this guy is going to improve your life? Stop going for some insolent, half-wit, tough guy with zero expectations for his life. Tough guys aren’t real men. So he has a gun and can “protect you.” What are you doing with your life that you need his protection? Better yet, what is HE doing with his life that he needs to protect himself and you?

As a single parent, I can say my standards have shot through the damn roof when it comes to men. Yes. I actually have standards now.

I am at a loss here. I don’t get it. I see it every damn day downtown. These morons walking around picking up women. I just don’t get it.

Please, parents of young boys: Stop making that guy. Teach your son what a real man is. Because this isn’t it!

And please stop getting stupid tattoos. I love tattoos, but these guys are always riddled with poorly done tattoos.

I’ve never seen a person more guilty than him.

Leave a Reply

